Beating a dead horse

ID-10020774

I’ve found a lot of trouble recently in finding something to actually talk about. Half of this, I think, comes from the fact that after 250+ posts things are getting a little unsustainable, and the other half is that you can only go on and on about something for so long before it gets old.

What with most of the anti-religious YouTubers going after Islam and turning their attention to politics, mainly because it’s more relevant, I can’t help but feel that I’m beating a dead horse. The fight to keep church and state separated is an ongoing one, don’t get me wrong, but here in New Zealand there’s very little to do regarding religion.

Creationists were really defeated in the court of public opinion back in 2014 after the Bill Nye vs Ken Ham debate, and from what I’ve seen around, they don’t look like the massive foe that they once were, and I wonder if the debate around religion is going a tad stale.

Now I’ve only had a few years experience in the atheist community, so I am just going off of what I have seen personally, and the changing trends in the number of atheist channels I watch, but it really seems as though the buzz around Christianity has faded, and that probably ties into the fact that the New Atheist movement has kind of fallen apart, and people like Christopher Hitchens (peace be upon him) are no longer around.

I have little patience these days for abstract and philosophical debates – a complex debate about the definitions and meanings of words and terms like ‘truth’, ‘reality’ and ‘logic’ gets on my nerves, and I don’t see how that could ever prove the existence of the Christian God. But asides from mental gymnastics and word games, I have seen very little new things to talk about.

I’ve always got the New Bible, and I could do a bit of reading up on Islam, but really I’m not quite sure what the future holds. I could talk about politics, as I have been keeping very up to date on the world’s current affairs, but I don’t necessarily want to change identity of this blog and risk driving off a load of readers who dislike my political views.

Image courtesy of Salvatore Vuono at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

4 thoughts on “Beating a dead horse

  1. the concerns with theocratic twits come and go; they’ll always raise their heads again. It does get to feel like one is making horse mush and right now, I’m with you in thinking I need a break. I’d go for writing about your political views. I don’t think you’ll drive off many.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh, sorry I didn’t see this post until now! I totally understand what you’re saying. I used to be more into the atheist community as well, but I just don’t care that much anymore. I’ve read Dawkin’s “The God Delusion” and Sam Harris’s “Letter to a Christian Nation” a few years ago, but now I lack the interest to read books on atheism. Even here in the U.S. I don’t see Christianity as a problem anymore. Sometimes I feel like people have even taken atheism too far in my opinion and attack Christianity just for the sake of it. I also think Leftists and today’s liberals have given atheism a bad honestly. Christian extremists are few and far between and they are nothing compared to extremists within Islam. People change and I think you should write about whatever interests you. I’ll read it! And it would be sad if someone unfollowed you just because you hold different opinions than them, that would just show that they are very close-minded.

    Like

Leave a Reply

