Was Jesus such a nice guy?

Waiting For The Word (flickr)

Some people, mostly the borderline Christians who don’t pay much attention to religion and never give it a second thought, may be under the illusion that Jesus was just a nice guy who told people to be moral. While this is *kind* of true, there are some things that Jesus said and did that are questionable at best.

In Luke 19:27 he orders for people to be executed in front of him. “But those enemies of mine who did not want me to be king over them–bring them here and kill them in front of me.”

In Revelations 2:23 he threatens to kill someone’s children ‘with death.’  “And I will kill her children with death; and all the churches shall know that I am he which searcheth the reins and hearts: and I will give unto every one of you according to your works.”

Jesus drove people out of a temple, throwing over tables in a fit of rage and in some accounts even using a whip. And Jesus went into the temple of God, and cast out all them that sold and bought in the temple, and overthrew the tables of the moneychangers, and the seats of them that sold doves, And said unto them, It is written, My house shall be called the house of prayer; but ye have made it a den of thieves.”

In Luke 12:53-49 Jesus wishes to bring fire to the earth and divide people against each other. “I have come to bring fire on the earth, and how I wish it were already kindled! But I have a baptism to undergo, and what constraint I am under until it is completed! Do you think I came to bring peace on earth? No, I tell you, but division. From now on there will be five in one family divided against each other, three against two and two against three. They will be divided, father against son and son against father, mother against daughter and daughter against mother, mother-in-law against daughter-in-law and daughter-in-law against mother-in-law.”

Jesus also supports the OT laws (Matthew 5:17-20) “Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them. For truly I tell you, until heaven and earth disappear, not the smallest letter, not the least stroke of a pen, will by any means disappear from the Law until everything is accomplished. Therefore anyone who sets aside one of the least of these commands and teaches others accordingly will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever practices and teaches these commands will be called great in the kingdom of heaven. For I tell you that unless your righteousness surpasses that of the Pharisees and the teachers of the law, you will certainly not enter the kingdom of heaven.”

And we have the classic Matthew 10:34-38. “Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.  For I have come to turn a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law— a man’s enemies will be the members of his own household. Anyone who loves their father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves their son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. Whoever does not take up their cross and follow me is not worthy of me.”

And this is just a sampling of the things Jesus did. In some verses he is the figure that Christians want him to be, but in others he is clearly not a pacifist.

11 thoughts on “Was Jesus such a nice guy?

  1. When I bring up Luke 19, the reactions of Christians are priceless. They’ll do anything to say that the figure of the man who goes away and returns as king in the parable isn’t Jesus. Suddenly those parables that they claim to understand as metaphors now just have to be literally about some random guy who was made a king.

    Like

  2. I agree with Club, the parable in Luke 19 is about Jesus and how he will deal with those who reject him as King.

    Any thoughts on who those people might be?

    Like

    • Regardless of who those people are, if this verse is taken literally – and quite frankly it would be hard to take it as anything else – it shows that Jesus is not just a moral pacifist like many preachers like to say. What happened to turning the other cheek?

      Like

              • Right. All of the above.

                Fair warning to those who willfully oppose Christ. What King has ever ascended to the throne and given those who opposed him a free pass? Shouldn’t bother most atheists since they claim they don’t want to be part of a kingdom ruled by such a malevolent, intolerant deity anyway.

                Like

                • But I thought the ‘perfect, moral, son of God’ would be better than sinful, mere humans who can kill at a moment’s notice.
                  The message Christ gives is very out of place and contradicts a lot of what he usually says.

                  Like

                  • No contradiction. The perfect, moral Son of God’s morality is superior to mere human’s morality. He isn’t killing at a moment’s notice. The parable serves as fair warning. Choose your side.

                    Like

Leave a Reply

