The New Bible – Genesis 13

ID-100316079

This chapter is about what happened after Abraham was kicked out of Egypt by the Pharaoh.

1. After Abraham was kicked out of Egypt he traveled south with his wife, Lot, and all of his stuff.

2. And he was very rich in gold, silver and cattle – how he transported it, nobody knows.

3. And he went to Bethel, and somehow found himself back at the altar. “I went south to Egypt, and then I went south again and ended up back here…how the Hell does that work?!” Abraham said to himself.

4. He went to the altar and called upon the Lord, but he was busy, so there was no reply.

5. And Lot also, went with Abraham and dwelled in the land.

6. And the land was not able to bear them, so they could not dwell together.

7. There was a strife between Abraham’s herdsmen and Lot’s herdsmen, and also the Canaanite and Perizzite: the people who owned the land that Abraham and Lot had decided to take for themselves.

8. And Abraham said to Lot, “how to we stop this strife? I will resort to my only method of solving problems; praying.

9. “I know what we’ll do, we shall divide our land between us.” And Lot said, “no, that’s a terrible idea. I know, we will divide our land between us! What would we do without me?”

10. And Lot lifted up his eyes and saw the plains of Jordan.

11. then Lot journeyed east and set up camp there.

12. Abraham dwelled in the land of the Canaanites, while Lot lived in the cities around Sodom.

13. The people that lived in Sodom were somehow all sinners before the Lord. “I’ll have to smite those guys later, but first I have work to do” The lord said.

14. And the Lord said to Abraham, “Look around,

15. I give you all of this land, just kill anyone who already lives here and you’ll be fine.

16. And I will make your descendants as many as the dust on the ground. Overpopulation will really be a problem in the future!

17.  Arise, walk the length of your land, for I give it to you. Sorry, I like repeating myself.” God said.

18. And Abraham built yet another altar to the Lord.

The New Bible homepage can be found here.

Image courtesy of vectorolie at FreeDigitalPhotos.net – image edited by mclasper

Leave a Reply

