Bible verse of the day #12

ID-100146182

Today’s verse is Matthew 27:46

In this verse, Jesus says “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” – but there is a couple of things I have to say about this verse. Firstly, there are four different accounts of Jesus’ last words:

Version 1: “Eli, Eli …My God, My God why have you forsaken me?” Matthew.27:46.

Version 2: “Eloi, Eloi…My God, My God why have you forsaken me?” Mark.15:34.

Version 3: “Father, into your hands I commend my spirit”. Luke.23:46.

Version 4: “It is finished”. John.19:30.

And secondly, the first two versions don’t sound like the words of someone who knew what would happen in advance and had planned it that way himself! It’s bad enough that Jesus had a ‘devil’ as one of his disciples – but I suppose everybody makes mistakes!

Come to think of it, if Jesus really was the son of God then he could have easily flown about the planet preaching to everybody, but instead he stays in Israel and allows himself to be crucified. If he really was that set on converting everybody then he is a bit of an under-achiever.

Image courtesy of Arvind Balaraman at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

4 thoughts on “Bible verse of the day #12

  1. I struggle to see your logic in atheism or even your care in the subject if you don’t believe. But I can say this, God has radically changed my life. I was abandoned by my father, beaten by my (ex) step dad, and raped by my ex. I have known a lot of hurt in my life. I was at a point of attempting suicide because I could see not ‘light at the end of the tunnel.” I could not understand why I was in such a place of life if God ‘loved me.’ But a few months later, I was in church and I broke down in tears, crying and begging God to forgive me and to love me. And I realized that God has loved me this entire time. That He has always been there and it was a matter of me accepting Him. I believe that whatever the reason for your lack of belief in God, I still believe that God can and will radically change you. I just want to remind you that He does love you. In spite of your feelings towards Him, He loves you, and He has a plan, a beautiful, wonderful plan for you.
    You see, Jesus was sent to die. It is tragic, but it was God’s will. He knew, the bible even says that He knew. He even told his disciples what was gonna happen! Believe me when i say, God loves you. No matter what. And there is nothing you can do that will make God forsake you. I truly hope you find your way, you find God’s way for your life. And I will be praying for you! ❤ Much love

    Like

    • Religion is good at that; preying on emotions and appealing to them. It’s ideas tell people what they want to hear, and suck them in when life gets hard. But there are other ways to survive in this world than asking a bearded guy who lives in the sky for help.
      I don’t know what sort of God you are referring to, but the God of the Bible is responsible for the deaths of over 2,470,000 people. Would an all-loving being kill so many people, mostly for pointless reasons?
      And as I said in my post, the sacrifice deal is both odd and unnecessary.
      If God is real, then I would expect him to show himself and prove his existence, if not, then he obviously doesn’t actually care that much. An appeal to emotion fallacy will not convince me, I need actual evidence.
      Jesus said himself that if you search for the truth, you will find it. So I shall see what comes, but I have confidence that I will remain an agnostic-atheist.
      “When life gets hard, people turn to God, when life gets harder, people realize; there is no God”
      – M. Clasper

      Like

  2. Pingback: Homepage ~

Leave a Reply

