Atheist Quotes

ID-10021571

Everyone loves quotes! So I have compiled a list of twenty quotes about atheism and religion.

“Being a Humanist means trying to behave decently without expectation of rewards or punishment after you are dead.”
― Kurt Vonnegut

“As more people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers.”
―Robert G. Ingersoll

“What we do in every other area of our lives (other than religion), is, rather than respect somebody’s beliefs, we evaluate their reasons.”
― Sam Harris

“We all ought to understand we’re on our own. Believing in Santa Claus doesn’t do kids any harm for a few years but it isn’t smart for them to continue waiting all their lives for him to come down the chimney with something wonderful. Santa Claus and God are cousins.”
― Andy Rooney

“Us atheist people, we believe we have to act properly and honestly for a moral principle and not because we expect an award in Paradise.”
― Margherita Hack

“If Atheism is a religion, then health is a disease!”
― Clark Adams

“First the priests arrive. Then the conquistadors.”
― James Clavell

“God is a book I can no longer read.”
― Floriano Martins

A man without reason is no better than a mad dog, and mad dogs must be put down for the good of everyone.”
― James L. Sutter

“The hands that help are better far than lips that pray.”
― Robert G. Ingersoll

“I’d be more willing to accept religion, even if I didn’t believe it, if I thought it made people nicer to each other but I don’t think it does.”
― Andy Rooney

“Nothing draws people more quickly away from religion than an open mind.”
― Hemant Mehta

“Religion is based on the idea that God is an imbecile.”
― Noam Chomsky

“All true believers have good reasons for disbelieving in every god except their own,’ said Birbal, ‘and so it is they who, between them, give me all the reasons for believing in none.”
― Salman Rushdie

“How I suffered when I had to preach to you those pious lies that I detest in my heart. What remorse your credulity caused me! A thousand times I was on the point of breaking out publicly and opening your eyes, but a fear stronger than myself held me back, and forced me to keep silence until my death.”
― Jean Meslier

“He said he thinks he’s God, and I said, In that case, I’m an atheist.”
― Jarod Kintz

“Christians talk as though goodness was their idea, but good behavior doesn’t have any religious origin. Our prisons are filled with the devout.”
― Andy Rooney

“Love and respect all people. Hate and destroy all faith.”
― Penn Jillette

“All men are born with a nose and ten fingers, but no one was born with a knowledge of God.”
― Voltaire

“We are all tricked. We think that religion tells us what to believe; but it doesn’t, it is telling us what not to believe. Atheism is not the absence of religion; atheism is the most undiluted form of religion: it tells us not to believe in anything at all. Atheists hate the religious and the religious hate atheists, but this is only a deception! We are all deceived! There is only one boat and we are all in it! All at the same time!”
― C. Joybell .C

Image courtesy of Salvatore Vuono at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

One thought on “Atheist Quotes

Leave a Reply

